Song of the Day: Right Thing To Do by SBTRKT feat. Jessie Ware


“Walking alone I’m in the red lines, trying to find, find the right time.”

I’ve been listening to SBTRKT for weeks now and just this week, I found out that he’s just a HE. Hahaha, medyo malabo. But it’s quite amazing kasi from his different songs, I couldn’t really tell that he’s a he and what genre his music is. Then I’ve made researches, due to serious curiosity. Hahaha chos lang. But I do really want to know everything about him.

Aaron Jerome’s the man behind the tribal native ceremonial masks who makes awesome music. Kahit na hindi ko nakikita face niya, I do know he’s guapo. ;) What I like about him is that, he once said that the reason why he likes being anonymous.. “I’d rather not talk about myself as a person, and let the music speak for itself. The name SBTRKT is me taking myself away from that whole process. I’m not a social person, so having to talk to DJs to make them play a record is not something I want to do. It’s more about giving them a record as an anonymous person and seeing whether they like it or not. If they play it, they play it.” And it’s true, people mostly judge the artist before the song. O tignan niyo si Justin Bieber. Kung hindi lang guapo yan, hindi niyo din naman magugustuhan mga kanta niya, di ba? :)

Here’s a list of some songs you might want to listen to:
1. Trials of the Past
2. Wildfire
3. Pharaohs
4. Soundboy Shift
5. Something Goes Right

And have I told you that he’s a “hot” DJ? Major turn on!!

SBTRKT’s music is a mixture of dubstep, (US) RnB, (UK) funky and two-step. SBTRKT’s pronounced as subtract.

About Camille Ortiz

Manila-based Multimedia Arts student
This entry was posted in Music, Video Blog. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

