College is Life

One of the hardest decision I’ve made was my choice of course I’ll take in college. I once thought about taking up Architecture, Fine Arts, Film and even courses that aren’t in the field of arts like Hotel Management, Business Management and Finance and a lot more! I even thought about taking up Nursing and Medicine.. I know right?! But as a kid, I used to dream of being a teacher either in preschool, elementary or high school. I loved the feeling of writing on a black board with the use of chalks and I fancy making my own visual aids and pretend that my stuffed toys were my students. I asked my mom, “should I consider my childhood dream in making decisions for my future?” She answered me with a smile.

Three years in college made me realize a lot of things, which includes thanking my 16-year old self for choosing the course I really love, and being in a school where I really belong (hehe hi CSB friends). Now I know what that smile my mom gave me few years back means. I don’t mean to offend, but I feel pretty bad for those who are forced to shift courses when they’re already in the middle of college.. it’s just a waste of time, money and effort tbh. My mom used to say, “make up your mind now or you’ll end up being in the path you didn’t really want in the first place.”

So here are some tips (based from personal experience) what to consider in taking up courses that your future self will thank you:

  1. Forget about your 4-year old self dreams. You wanted to be a skater? Ok cool. You wanted to be an elementary Math teacher? Ok cool. But the question is, is that what your 16-year old wants? Or for that matter, is that what your future self wants? I don’t mean to be harsh but that childhood dream of yours is dead. UNLESS you’ve kept that dream ’til now and willing enough to pursue them..
  2. Passion over practicality. I had this conversation with my mom before I started filling out application forms for college. I asked her if it’s okay if I take up art courses since that’s what I really want. She said yes without having second thoughts but was weirded out a bit why I even bothered asking her if “it’s okay”. I just thought that being practical should be my top priority since some would agree that art graduates tend to have less job opportunities in the real world (I BEG TO DISAGREE!). But my mom advised that it’s still my passion that I have to consider first. Why? Because how am I going to get a decent high-paying jobs if I didn’t like it in the first place? I don’t want to go to school studying something for years that I have no interest in.
  3. Talk to your parents, friends, even relatives about it. Especially to those who are experiencing/experienced same issues. It’d be best seeking advices from elders cause they’re much way knowledgable about the real world. If you’re having a hard time deciding, don’t be scared to have that conversation with your parents.
  4. Get rid of the I-want-that-course-cause-it-has-no-Math-subjects-in-it attitude. Whatever course you’ll take, Math is always going to be there to hunt you. Haha half kidding. But some courses only offer general subjects on your first few terms in college. Don’t settle for something just because you’re trying to avoid one of your hatest subjects in high school.
  5. “I want to be in that course cause my boyfriend/girlfriend/best friends are taking that course.” Dude. No. Just no.
  6. “Cause my mom/dad said so.” I’m not saying disregard your parents’ decisions when it comes to your future, just be sure to prioritize your own decisions before theirs. It’s not about going against them but it’s your future we’re talking about, not theirs.

I just don’t want future college students to doubt themselves right in the middle of the school year and start blaming their past selves for making the wrong decisions. College is super fun if you choose the right path you wanted to be in even in the coming future. These tips may not be applicable to some, but I’m really hoping this helps. At the end of the day, as long as you know you’re making the right choices for yourself, then go. For sure your future self will thank you for that. As cliche as this may sound, the bottom line here is to follow your heart.

About Camille Ortiz

Manila-based Multimedia Arts student
This entry was posted in Advice, College, Life. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to College is Life

  1. Erik Conover says:

    Move forward openly with curiosity and amusement with your passions rather than demands and hopes. Don’t expect it to go as planned but know that the unplanned may lead to the best later. The best is yet to come

    Erik
    http://erikconover.com

Leave a Reply

