Party Hard, Study Harder

“You’re in college! Have fun, go to parties, go home late, ditch classes, date boys, get drunk, go on adventures and meet new people!”

I’ve heard this line a few times already. I’ve read countless articles around the net on how you’re supposed to enjoy college, and by enjoy they mean everything I’ve quoted above.

I’m already in my third year and I think there’s only one from the list I have achieved since I entered college — ditch classes. And that’s due to laziness, sickness or family plans but mostly laziness. In my three years in college, I tried partying and chill drinking with friends once, but it didn’t work out for me. I didn’t enjoy the loudness of the people and the smell of the place. I tried drinking alcohol but it only made me sick for some reason. They say the party starts at 9 pm.. I went home at 10. That’s when I realized I wasn’t made for parties like those.

I hated my parents for not letting me go to college parties, I used to feel jealous of my batchmates who went out almost every Friday/Saturday nights. I saw them post photos of their night outs while I lay down in bed and watch them have fun. I never wanted to be that loser who never goes out and doesn’t know how to have fun. In the first few months of college, everyone was having fun while school load’s still not that heavy. I was invited a lot of times by some of my friends, and even told me to sneak out cause that’s what college is all about. Sneaking and getting caught.

Maybe it’s a blessing to have strict and conservative parents after all. I’ve seen some people from my school got pregnant, got kicked out of school, dropped classes and shifted to different courses. I’m not saying those are effects of partying or drinking.. But mostly those things happen because they lack guidance from parents and self-discipline. Remember kids, too much of anything can kill.

I’m not against anything I mentioned, in fact, sometimes I can’t help myself but feel jealous of my friends who are free to go out and go home whenever they want to. Sometimes I label myself as a loser who never really goes out and doesn’t know how to have fun. Though I am proud of myself for not giving in to any of those, there’s still a time I wish I did. But you know what? Maybe it’s a blessing in disguise. Knowing myself, I easily give in to temptations, especially when I know no one’s holding me back. That’s when I realize how important my parents’ roles are.

Though there’s a chance my future self will hate my 18-year old self for not exploring and going out on adventures, at least my 20 something-year old self will thank me for making it out of college by doing ‘abstinence.’ Haha! Anyways, I made a promise to myself that once I finished college, I’m already legalizing myself to do things I wasn’t able to do when I was still in school. Minus the sex, drugs and sneaking out! #GoodGirlCamille

About Camille Ortiz

Manila-based Multimedia Arts student
This entry was posted in 2014, Advice, College, Health, Life, Society, Week Blog. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

